Login |  Register |  help

Town finishes year ranked 15th in nation according to IL

Posted Thursday, June 18, 2009 by Inside Lacrosse

Article from Inside Lacrosse
Our goal is always a NYS Championship, not these rankings.

Baltimore, Md. — Congratulations to the 2009 Under Armour/Inside Lacrosse High School Power Ranking National Champions, the Gilman Greyhounds. Gilman opened the season ranked No. 1 and regained the top spot with a dominating finish to their season.

Finishing 14-1 and winning the MIAA A Conference championship, Gilman was up to the task of one of the nation's most difficult schedules, a slate that included the teams that finished Nos. 4, 5, 8 and 13 in the final Power Rankings. Additionally, the Greyhounds were paced by their record five Under Armour All-Americans — midfielders Jack Doyle (Harvard) and Greg McBride (North Carolina), attackmen Marcus Holman (North Carolina) and Dave Emala (Georgetown) and defenseman Harry Prevas (Virginina).

Finishing second are the West Islip Lions, the New York Class A state champions,led by UA All-American midfielder Ian Braddish (North Carolina). No. 3 Manhasset won the New York Class C championship behind strong play from UA All-American attackman Connor English (Virginia).

In all the final UA/IL High School Power Rankings feature 12 teams from New York, four teams from Maryland, two from Pennsylvania and New Jersey, and one team each from Connecticut, Massachusetts, Florida, Texas and California.

For more analysis and discussion on the final Under Armour/Inside Lacrosse High School Power Rankings, click here and check InsideLacrosse.com tomorrow for the debut of the final Inside Lacrosse Regional Rankings.


1. Gilman (Md.) (15-1)
Previous: 1. Won MIAA A championship.


2. West Islip (N.Y.) (22-1)
Previous: 5. Won NYSPHSAA Class A championship.


3. Manhasset (N.Y.) (20-1)
Previous: 11. Won NYSPHSAA Class C championship.


4. Calvert Hall (Md.) (14-4)
Previous: 6. Lost in the MIAA A championship.


5. St. Mary's Annapolis (Md.) (15-2)
Previous: 2. Lost in the MIAA A semifinals.


6. St. Anthony’s (N.Y) (16-2)
Previous: 16. Won NYCHSAA championship.


7. Summit (N.J.) (22-1)
Previous: 17. Won New Jersey Tournament of Champions.


8. La Salle (Pa.) (21-4)
Previous: 15. Won PIAA championship.


9. LaFayette (N.Y.) (23-1)
Previous: 3. Lost in NYSPHSAA Class C championship.


10. Deerfield (Mass.) (15-1)
Previous: 9. Tied for the New England West Division I lacrosse league title.


11. Saint Andrew's (Fla.) (24-0)
Previous: 10. Won FHSAA State Championship.


12. Canandaigua (N.Y.) (22-2)
Previous: Unranked. Won NYSPHSAA Class B championship.


13. Georgetown Prep (Md.) (20-3)
Previous: 12. Won the IAC championship.


14. Orchard Park (N.Y.) (21-2)
Previous: Unranked. Lost in NYSPHSAA Class A championship.


15. Yorktown (N.Y.) (18-3)
Previous: 8 Lost in NYSPHSAA Class A Semifinals



16. Ithaca (N.Y.) (18-3)
Previous: Unranked. Lost in NYSPHSAA Class A semifinals.


17. Delbarton (N.J.) (19-3)
Previous: 4. Lost in New Jersey Tournament of Champions final.


18. Highland Park (Texas) (18-1)
Previous: 20. Won THSLL state championship.


19. Conestoga (Pa.) (24-2)
Previous: 13. Lost in PIAA championship.


20. Niskayuna (N.Y.) (24-1)
Previous: 14. Lost in NYSPHSAA Class B championship.


21. Salisbury School (Conn.) (13-1)
Previous: 24. Tied for the New England West Division I lacrosse league title.


22. West Genesee (N.Y.) (20-2)
Previous: 7. Lost in the Section 3 final.


23.Cold Spring Harbor (N.Y.) (15-3)
Previous: 19. Lost in the Section 8 final.


24. Coronado (Calif.) (21-2)
Previous: Unranked. Won CIF South championship.


25. Chaminade (N.Y.) (14-5)
Previous: 21. Lost in the NYCHSAA championship.

This page was created in 0.0938 seconds on server 132